The maritime zones recognized under international law include internal waters, the territorial sea, the contiguous zone, the exclusive economic zone, the continental shelf, the high seas and the Area. With the exception of the high seas and the Area, each of these maritime zones is measured from the baseline determined in accordance with customary international law as reflected in the 1982 Law of the Sea Convention. (Source: National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration, U.S.A.)

Broader: Concepts
Alternative labels:
maritime area
Explore content
Follow up the links below to see InforMEA content related to maritime zone coming up from several external sources.