This content is exclusively provided by FAO / FAOLEX

Fisheries Act, 1984 (Act No. 4).

Type of law

Provisions of the Act apply to the EEZ, the territorial sea and internal waters of Saint Kitts. The Act is divided into 5 Parts: Preliminary (I); Fisheries Management and Development (II); Marine reserves and conservation (III); Enforcement (IV); General (V). Part II contains, inter alia, sections on management and development plans, a Fisheries Advisory Committee, regional cooperation, licences for foreign and local vessels, fish processing establishments and local fisheries management areas. Part III contains sections on fishing priority areas, leasing of land for aquaculture, marine reserves and prohibited fishing methods. (43 sections)
Long title of text
An Act to provide for the licensing of local and foreign fishing vessels, to confer upon the Minister the power to enter into arrangements or agreements dealing with access or otherwise in regard to fishery matters; to provide an institutional framework for the management, planning, development and conservation of fishery resources in Saint Christopher and Nevis; and for connected purposes.
Date of text
Serial Imprint
Official Gazette, Supplement, pp. 1-27.
Source language


Legislation Amendment