This content is exclusively provided by FAO / FAOLEX

Maritime Areas Act, 1984 (Act No. 3).

Type of law

The Act provides for the definition of the territorial sea (sects. 3 and 4), internal waters (sect. 5), continental shelf (sect. 7), and for the establishment and definition of the contiguous zone (sect. 6) and an exclusive economic zone (sect. 8) of Saint Christopher and Nevis.
The Act is divided into seven Parts, i.e. Preliminary (I); Maritime Areas (II); Rights in Respect of Maritime Areas (III); Innocent passage and transit passage (IV); Charts and geographical co-ordinates (V); Jurisdiction of courts and other legal matters (VI); Regulation, savings and amendments (VII). (30 sections)
Long title of text
An Act to make provision with respect to the territorial sea and the continental shelf of Saint Christopher and Nevis; to establish a contiguous zone and an exclusive economic zone adjacent to and beyond the territorial sea; and for related purposes.
Date of text
The Territorial Waters Jurisdiction Act, 1878 of the U.K. is hereby repealed.
Serial Imprint
Official Gazette, Supplement, 33 pp.
Source language


Legislation Amendment