This content is exclusively provided by FAO / FAOLEX

Law on special protected areas.

Type of law
Date of original text

The purpose of this Law shall be to regulate the use and procurement of land for state special protection, preservation and conservation in order to conserve the specific features of natural zones, unique formations, rare and endangered plants and animals, and historic and cultural monuments and scenic areas, and to study and understand their evolution. Special protected areas shall be classified into the following categories: (a) strictly protected areas; (b) national conservation parks; (c) nature reserves; and (d) monuments. The following activities shall be prohibited on the territory of special protected areas: (a) changes to natural characteristics by any means; (b) agriculture; (c) hunting, trapping or destruction of natural habitats of wild fauna; (d) causing a negative environmental impact by any means, technique or substance; (e) construction; (f) grazing; and (g) use of water bodies for commercial purposes. Land within limited-use zones of strictly protected areas may be leased to citizens under land tenancy contracts for a period of five years. Any activity on land shall be carried out in accordance with eco-friendly methods and techniques.
Date of consolidation/reprint
Entry into force notes
This Law enters into force on 1 April 1995.
Reference number of this Law is unavailable. Official translation.
Source language


Legislation Amendment