This content is exclusively provided by FAO / FAOLEX

Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries Act 1975 (Chapter 51).

Type of law

The 43 sections of the Act are divided into 6 Parts: Prohibition of Certain Methods of Taking or Destroying of Fish Etc. (I); Obstructions of Passage of Fish (II); Times of Fishing and Selling and Exporting Fish (III); Fishing Licences (IV); Administration and Enforcement (V); Miscellaneous and Supplementary (VI).
Part V also contains a Section of the introduction of fish or spawn in inland waters. (5 Schedules: Close seasons and close times (1), Licences (2), Administration (3), Offences (4), Repeals (5)).
Long title of text
An Act to consolidate the Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries Act 1923 and certain other enactments relating to salmon and freshwater fisheries, and to repeal certain obsolete enactments relating to such fisheries.
Date of text
All previous Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries Acts (1923, 1929, 1935, 1965, 1972) are repealed. Other enactments specified in Schedule 5 are repealed in part.
Source language


Legislation Amendment