This content is exclusively provided by FAO / FAOLEX

Food Safety and Standards (Food Safety Auditing) Regulations, 2018.

Type of law

These Regulations are framed pursuant to the powers conferred by clause (c) of sub-section (2) of section 16 read with section 44 of the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006. It contains 15 regulations across four parts. Part I consists of the definitions. Part II provides for recognition of auditing agency by the Food Authority. It includes the criteria, procedure, terms and conditions for granting of such recognition. Further, procedure for renewal and power for suspension or cancellation of recognition has been given to the Food Authority. Part III lays down the procedure to audit food businesses. The food businesses that belong to the category or type as specified by the Food Authority are subject to mandatory food safety auditing. It also describes the duties of auditors and the process to be followed in respect of audit report. Part IV provides for audit monitoring system to monitor the performance of the recognized auditing agency by the Food Authority. It also contains provision for resolution of disputes between Food Business Operator and auditors.
Date of text
Entry into force notes
They shall come into force on the date of their publication in the Official Gazette.
Source language


Legislation Amendment