This content is exclusively provided by FAO / FAOLEX

Forest Act [Chapter 19:05].

Type of law
Date of original text

The text of the Act consists of 91 sections completed by 3 Schedules. The sections are divided into 11 Parts: Preliminary (I); Forestry Commission (II); Forest estate and Forest Land (III); Demarcated Forests, Nature Reserves, Private Protected Forests, Reserved and Protected Trees (IV); Control of Mining Timber Rights: Mining Timber Permit Board (V); Conservation of Timber Resources (VI); Regulation of Trade in Forest Produce (VII); Control of Fires and Burning vegetation (VIII); Plantation on Mozambique Border (IX); Offences and Penalties (X); Miscellaneous (XI).
The Commission established under section 4 shall consists of members appointed by the Minister. The Commission shall advise on general forest policy and shall be responsible for the control, management, conservation, improvement of forest resources in Zimbabwe.
Long title of text
An Act to establish a commission for the administration, control and management of State forests, to provide for the transfer of certain assets belonging to the Government to the said Commission; to provide for the setting aside of State forests and for the protection of private forests, trees and forest produce; to establish a Mining Timber Permit Board and to control the cutting and taking of timber for mining purposes; to provide for the conservation of timber resources and the compulsory afforestation of private land; to regulate and control trade in forest produce including the use of trade names and marks in connection with forest produce; to regulate and control the burning of vegetation; and for other purposes connected with the foregoing.
Date of consolidation/reprint
Consolidated edition of Act No. 37 of 1949 as amended last by Act No. 13 of 2002.
Source language


Legislation status
in force
Legislation Amendment