This content is exclusively provided by FAO / FAOLEX

Food Safety Act 1990.

Type of law
Date of original text

The text of the Act consists of 60 sections which are divided into 4 Parts: Preliminary (I); Main Provisions (II); Administration and enforcement (III); Miscellaneous and Supplemental (IV). Sections of Part II are placed under 5 Headings; Food safety (7-13); Consumer protection (14-15); Regulations (16-19); Defences etc. (20-22);- Miscellaneous and supplemental (23-26). Sections 7 and 8 declare rendering of food injurious to health respectively selling of food not complying with food safety requirements to be an offence. Every food authority in England and Wales and every regional or islands council in Scotland shall appoint one or more persons to act as public analysts for the purposes of this Act within the authority's area (sect. 27). Sections 29 to 31 provide for powers of the Minister and authorized officers with respect to procurement and analysis of samples of food. The Minister may issue codes of recommended practice for the guidance of food authorities as regards the execution and enforcement of this Act and regulations and orders made under it; such code shall be laid before Parliament (sect. 40). Section 51 amends provisions of the Food and Environment Protection Act 1985; section 52 amends provisions of the Food Act 1984. The Act is completed by 5 Schedules.
Long title of text
An Act to make new provision in place of the Food Act 1984 (except Parts II and V), the Food and Drugs (Scotland) Act 1956 and certain other enactments relating to food; to amend Parts III and V of the said Act of 1984 and Part I of the Food and Environment Protection Act of 1985; and for connected purposes.
Date of consolidation/reprint
Including amendments up to The Infant Formula and Follow-on Formula (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2021. Food Safety Act 1990 is up to date with all changes known to be in force on or before 06 October 2021.
Source language


Legislation Amendment
Implemented by